Development of autotests for CRM-system

RetailCRM project is rapidly growing since 2013. When the code amount is hundreds of thousands lines, inevitably there is a question of keeping system work stability when intensive developing of new product features.

For this purpose the full cycle of product testing was implemented, which allows to save the stability of retailCRM working version and to update system twice a week imperceptibly and without serious consequences for users and with minimum developers time consumption.

TASK
Saving of retailCRM project stability when intensive developing.

Automatic checking of new retailCRM features at the moment of their developing and implementation to working version of system.

WHAT WE DID
We have implemented a complete testing cycle of retailCRM

About the project
RetailCRM project started in 2013. Then it was internal startup with the limited functionality, not requiring the testing.

One year later the project became larger and we have started to think about the project testing. In parallel there was a task to update versions of Symfony framework, on which the product is developed. That time the system were working on Symfony 2.1, when Symfony 2.5 was already launched.

It was needed to update Symfony for keeping up to date and not to allow the project code to become outdated. Updating was followed by serious risks, since versions have differences and there was a possibility to get a lot of errors, so it was the cause for writing the first set of tests.

First, the basic tests were written, which just passed by all system pages, sent forms, filters, switched the sorting and checked the absence of errors 500, it allowed to find out the most obvious breakdowns after updating.

Next series of tests were already checking the work correctness of crucial pages and forms. The logic, which independently passes by all sortings of columns and lists, all filters, was added, it fills in the form with different data and checks their work correctness.

Also there were added the tests for business logic, for statuses transition, checking of rights for access to sections. All this functionality was written for one month. In July 2015 it was decided that all written tests (around 300 at that moment) are enough for system updating.

After Symfony updating we started to write the tests mandatorily for all tasks, in passing creating tests for old tasks.

The more tests were created, the longer they were executed. When it was only first series of tests, they were executed just for several minutes. They were executed locally.

When the tests` execution began to take tens of minutes, waiting for execution were very inconvenient for developer. It was decided to use PHPCI, the system, which allows to execute the tests automatically. PHPCI integration with git and Redmine, which allows to work autonomously, was made.

AUTOTESTS — are the scenarios, which check the work correctness of small blockes of code or imitate the user interaction with service. Autotests allow to avoid manual testing and to exclude the code breakdown when adding new functionality to the system.
Meaning of three-sided integration of PHPCI with git and Redmine
1. There is a task, executing by developer in new branch at git.

2. The same number, as a task has, is assigned to this branch.

3. Developer realizes the task, adds tests on it, then executes commit and push to the central repository on server.

4. PHPCI monitors automatically the appearance of new branches and new code on the server.

5. PHPCI catches up the new branch, takes project from there, opens it and starts to execute tests.
6. If all tests are passed, then PHPCI notifies about successful tests passing: it changes task status to "Feedback" and 80% of readiness automatically.

7. If the result is negative (at least one test was not passed), status changes automatically that tests were not passed. There is a link in message from PHPCI.

8. PHPCI executes tests for all PHP versions, the project must work at, and notes the result of each execution in the task.
Task realization cycle from definition till deployment to working CRM-system with using of autotests
Autotests applying to another systems
At the moment autotests are mostly used in retailCRM main service. But there are also infrastructure services, which solve related tasks in the project, like:

  • Billing;
  • Deployer;
  • Geohelper;
  • Daemon Collector etc.
There are certain tests for each project.

Tests were executed for all major versions of language supported by project. At the moment the minimum retailCRM requirements are ≥ PHP5.6, and each task is executed for PHP5.6 and PHP7.
Data, checked when autotesting
1.
Upload of unit-tests for API
2.
Functional tests for business logic
Functional tests are much heavier than unit-tests. They require the reloading of test fixtures to database and emulate full request/response-logic. For example, CI has begun from medium virtual machine on 4 kernels and tests execution has been taking 10-20 minutes, and for two years the execution time increased to 3-5 hours. After optimization series and move to dedicated server the time was reduced to 45 minutes.
Achieved results
1. Solving of localization errors problem when updating of frameworks and libraries, used in project. Updating of Symfony version carries out in regular mode with code customization in places of test failures.

2. Reducing of code checking time for technical leader.

3. Fast and stable implementation of new features.

I think that tests` main goal is not to check work of new functionality at the moment of its development (though this too), but to provide working capacity of existing functionality when developing the new one. When the code amount is hundreds of thousands lines, only tests can help to keep the project work stability when its active developing.

As of August, 2016 more than 2000 tests are already developed. There are about 40 thousand different checks for this or that logic of retailCRM service work in these tests. Without implementation of autotests it would be almost impossible.
Ilyas Salikhov
CTO, RETAILCRM
+7 495 268-02-56
We are in web-development business since 2007. We rank among Top 100 RuNet web-developers and Top 5 e-shop developers.
Khlebozavodskiy proezd 7, Unit 9, Moscow, 115230
Got interesting projects? Contact us!

Разработка автотестов для CRM-системы
Проект retailCRM стремительно развивается с 2013 года. Когда объем кода насчитывает сотни тысяч строк, неизбежно встает вопрос о сохранении стабильности работы системы при интенсивной разработке новых фич продукта.

С этой целью был внедрен полный цикл тестирования продукта, позволяющий сохранять стабильность работы боевой версии retailCRM и производить обновления системы 2 раза в неделю незаметно и безболезненно для пользователей с минимальными затратами времени работы разработчиков.

ЗАДАЧА
Сохранение стабильной работы проекта retailCRM при интенсивном развитии.

Автоматическая проверка новых фич retailCRM в момент их разработки и внедрения в боевую версию системы.

ЧТО МЫ ДЕЛАЛИ
Внедрили полный цикл тестирования продукта retailCRM
О проекте
Проект retailCRM стартовал в 2013 году. Тогда это был внутренний стартап с ограниченным функционалом, не требующим проведения тестов.

Спустя год размер проекта стал внушительнее, и уже начали задумываться о тестировании в проекте. Параллельно требовалось обновление версии фреймворка Symfony, на котором разработан продукт. На тот момент система работала на Symfony 2.1, хотя уже тогда вышел Symfony 2.5.

Чтобы идти в ногу со временем и не дать коду проекта устареть, требовалось обновить Symfony. Обновление сопровождалось значительными рисками, т.к. версии достаточно сильно отличались и можно было получить многочисленные ошибки. Всё это послужило поводом для написания первого набора тестов.

Сначала были написаны базовые тесты, которые просто обходили все странички системы, отправляли формы, фильтры, включали сортировки и проверяли отсутствие 500-х ошибок, что позволяло выявить самые очевидные поломки после обновления.

Следующая порция тестов уже проверяла правильность работы критически важных страниц и форм. Была добавлена логика, которая самостоятельно обходит абсолютно все сортировки колонок и списков, все фильтры, заполняет разными данными формы и проверяет правильность их работы.

Также были добавлены тесты на бизнес-логику, по переходам статусов, проверке прав для доступов в разделы. Весь этот функционал был написан за месяц. В июле 2015 года было принято решение, что написанных тестов (на тот момент их было около 300) достаточно для того, чтобы обновить систему.

После обновления Symfony мы стали писать тесты в обязательном порядке для всех новых задач, по ходу дела покрывая тестами и старые задачи.

Чем больше становилось тестов, тем дольше они прогонялись. Когда была только первая партия тестов, они прогонялись, буквально, в течение нескольких минут. Их запускали локально, на своих машинах.

Когда прохождение тестов стало занимать десятки минут, для разработчика ожидание прохождения было крайне неудобным. Было принято решение использовать в работе PHPCI — это система, которая позволяет автоматически прогонять тесты. Была произведена интеграция PHPCI с git и Redmine, позволяющая работать автономно.

АВТОТЕСТЫ — сценарии, которые проверяют правильность работы небольших блоков кода или имитируют взаимодействие пользователя с сервисом. Автотесты позволяют избавиться от ручного тестирования и исключить поломку кода при добавлении нового функционала в систему.
Суть трехсторонней интеграции PHPCI, git и Redmine
1. Есть задача, которую разработчик выполняет в новой ветке в git.

2. Данной ветке присваивается такой же номер, как и у задачи.

3. Разработчик реализует задачу, добавляет на неё тесты, далее выполняет commit и push в центральный репозиторий на сервер.

4. PHPCI автоматически мониторит, какие новые ветки появились, и отслеживает появление нового кода на сервере.

5. PHPCI подхватывает новую ветку и берет из данной ветки проект, разворачивает его и начинает прогонять тесты.
6. Если тесты проходят, то PHPCI уведомляет, что тесты прошли успешно: он автоматически проставляет в задаче статус «Обратная связь» и готовность 80%.

7. Если результат отрицательный (не прошел хотя бы один тест), автоматически проставляется статус, что тесты не прошли. В сообщении, которое выдает PHPCI, есть ссылка. Разработчик может посмотреть, какие тесты не прошли, и проанализировать каждый упавший тест, либо актуализировать тест, если логика верная.

8. PHPCI прогоняет тесты на всех версиях PHP, на которых должен работать проект, и по каждому прогону отмечает результат в задаче
Цикл реализации задачи от постановки до момента попадания задачи на боевую CRM-систему с использованием автотестов
Применение автотестов в других системах
На данный момент активнее всего автотесты используются в основном сервисе retailCRM. Но также есть инфраструктурные сервисы, которые решают смежные задачи в проекте, такие как:

  • Billing;
  • Deployer;
  • Geohelper;
  • Daemon Collector и др.
Для каждого из этих проектов разработаны свои тесты.

Тесты прогоняются на всех мажорных версиях языка, которые поддерживаются проектом. На данный момент минимальные требования у retailCRM ≥ PHP5.6, и каждая задача прогоняется на PHP5.6 и PHP7.

Данные, проверяемые при автотестировании
1.
Выкладка про unit-тесты для API
2.
Функциональные тесты для бизнес-логики
Функциональные тесты на порядок тяжелее unit-тестов. Они требуют перезаливки тестовых фикстур в БД и эмулируют полноценную request/response-логику. Например, CI начинался на средней виртуалке на 4х ядрах и прогон тестов занимал 10-20 минут, а за два года на этой виртуалке время прогона выросло до 3-5 часов. После ряда оптимизаций и переезда на выделенный сервер удалось уменьшить время до 45 минут.
Достигнутые результаты
1. Решение проблемы локализации ошибок при обновлении фреймворков и библиотек, используемых в проекте. Обновление версии Symfony происходит в штатном режиме с доработкой кода в местах упавших тестов.

2. Сокращение времени техлида на проверку кода.

3. Быстрое и стабильное внедрение новых фич.

Я считаю, что основная задача тестов – не проверять работу новой функциональности на момент ее разработки (хотя и это тоже), а обеспечить работоспособность существующей функциональности при разработке новой. Когда объем кода идет на сотни тысяч строк, сохранять стабильность работы проекта при его интенсивном развитии помогут только тесты.

По данным на август 2016 г разработано уже более 2000 тестов. В этих тестах выполняется почти 40 тысяч различных проверок той или иной логики работы сервиса retailCRM. Без внедрения автотестов это было бы практически невозможно.
Ильяс Салихов
CTO, RETAILCRM
+7 495 268-02-56
Работаем на рынке веб‑разработки с 2006 года. Входим в топ‑100 веб‑разработчиков Рунета и в топ‑3 разработчиков интернет‑магазинов
115230, Москва, Хлебозаводский пр., д. 7, стр. 9
Есть интересные проекты? Свяжитесь с нами!